Skip to content

What is a compulsive over-eater?

March 27, 2011

I know, I know…Wikipedia is not greatest of reliable resources. But when you type ‘compulsive overeater’ into Google, the definitions all match no matter where they come from.

Compulsive overeating, also sometimes called food addiction is characterized by an obsessive/compulsive relationship to food. Professionals address this with either a behavior-modification model or a food-addiction model. …
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compulsive_overeater

I don’t think this definition quite sums up what compulsive over-eating is. For me, it’s eating normal proportions–sometimes less–while eating around other people. But when I’m alone I eat massive proportions, even if I’m not hungry. I’m not sure what happens in my brain to make me do that. Sometimes, it’s like I’m on autopilot and I don’t think about it at all. That statement alone contradicts the fact that I consciously choose to eat alone.

No comments yet

Leave a comment